Christmas Music from St Paul’s

Recorded for Prelude Records at St Paul’s Cathedral, London 1986.


  • Choir pf St Paul’s Cathedral
  • The English Brass Ensemble
  • Christopher Dearnley, organ
  • John Scott, conductor


  • Bidding Bell
  • Praetorius: Come, thou Redeemer of the earth
  • Arr. Edgar Pettman: Gabriel’s Message
  • Arr. Vaughn Williams: The Truth from Above
  • Praetorius: The Noble Stem of Jesse
  • Brahms: Es ist ein Ros’ entsprungen (organ chorale-prelude)
  • Arr. Barry Rose: People look East
  • Arr. David Willcocks: The Cherry Tree Carol
  • Arr. Andrew Carter: A maiden most gentle
  • Hymn: Helmsley – Thomas Olivers: Lo! He comes with clouds descending
  • JS Bach: In dulci jubilo (organ chorale-prelude)
  • Arr. David Willcocks: O come, all ye faithful
  • Arr. GR Woodward: Up! Good Christen folk and listen
  • Harold Darke: In the bleak mid-winter
  • Hymn: Irby – HJ Gauntlett: Once in Royal David’s City
  • Arr. Charles Wood: Ding dong! Merrily on high
  • John Rutter: The Sans Day Carol
  • Arr. RI Pearsall: In dulci jubilo
  • Mendelssohn: Hark! The herald angels sing

John Scott (1956-2015)