The English Anthem: Volume 6

Recorded for the Hyperion label at St Paul’s Cathedral, London, on 26 – 28, 30 June 1995.


  • Choir of St Paul’s Cathedral
  • Andrew Lucas, organ
  • John Scott, conductor

  • Stanford: For lo, I raise up
  • Harvey: Dum transisset sabbatum
  • Elgar: Ave verum
  • Tippet: Plebs angelica
  • Bairstow: If the Lord had not helped me
  • Dearnley: Let thy hand be strengthened
  • Harris: Strengthen ye the weak hands
  • Tavener: Three Antiphons
  • Parry: My soul, there is a country
  • Walmisley: Remember, O Lord, what is come upon us
  • Wood: ‘Tis the day of Resurrection

John Scott (1956-2015)