The English Anthem: Volume 2

Recorded on the Hyperion label at St Paul’s Cathedral, London, on 1 – 4 July 1991.


  • Choir of St Paul’s Cathedral
  • Andrew Lucas, organ
  • John Scott, conductor


  • Battishill: O Lord, lookdown from heaven
  • Stainer: How beautiful upon the mountains
  • Stanford: Justorum animae from Three Motets, Op.38
  • Bainton: And I saw a new Heaven
  • Mathias: As truly as God our Father
  • Joubert: O Lorde, the maker of all things
  • Bairstow: Save us, O Lord
  • Ouseley: O Saviour of the world
  • Gowers: Viri Galilaei
  • Holloway: Lord, what is man?
  • Finzi: Lo, the full, final sacrifice Op.26

John Scott (1956-2015)