Passiontide: a Sequence of Music for Lent, Passiontide and Easter

Recorded for the Hyperion label at St Paul’s Cathedral, London, on 23 – 28 June 1996


  • Choir of St Paul’s Cathedral
  • Andrew Lucas, organ
  • John Scott, conductor

  • Anonymous: A Lent Prose
  • Farrant: Call to remembrance, O Lord
  • Mendelssohn: I waited for the Lord from Symphony No. 2 ‘Lobgesang’
  • Bairstow: The Lamentation
  • Sanders: The Reproaches
  • Chapple: Ecca lignum Crucis
  • Bruckner: Christus factus est
  • Gibbons: Drop, drop, slow tears
  • Lotti: Crucifixus a 8
  • Wood: This joyful Eastertide
  • Bairstow: In Exitu Israel ‘Psalm’ 114
  • Philips: Ecca vicit Leo de tribu Juda
  • Britten: Te Deum in C

John Scott (1956-2015)